Sunday, February 25, 2018

Clementine Quilt A Long - Month #2 Broken Berries

Yes it's true Month #2's block is all ready to go in the Clementine QAL being run by Fat Quarter Shop

For those of you who have no idea what I'm banging on about nip over to this post.......what's important is that for a small donation which goes to St Jude's Childrens Research Hospital, you can download a great pattern and feel good doing it :)

Since I'm using 24 different prints instead of the suggested 8 in the pattern, I've found the best way for me to keep it all straight in my head and the mix of colours correct is to cut both blocks out at once.....

I know, I know very organised and quite out of character for me LOL

Once again I'm pleasantly surprised with how much I'm enjoying these blocks...Broken Berries?...never heard of it, but it's so cute!

Here's the Fat Quarter Shop video tutorial to get you going

The small blocks are easy to cut but once again you need to pay attention to pressing your seams to piece the tiny blocks accurately and not lose your points. I'd almost cut the squares slightly larger than the pattern says for the HST's so yu have a bit more wiggle room when you square up.

 And definitely seams pressed open for me :)

But when you go from the 12 1/2" block to the 20" block it feels like a walk in the park!

And here are both sizes together...just a little bit cute...and I'm loving the Riley Blake Swiss Dot I chose for the background...nice change from a solid for me.

Have fun downloading peeps and I'll keep an eye out for your makes on the hashtag #clementineQAL

Here's the list and links of the other Quilty Peeps sewing along for some eye candy and/or inspo
*April of April Rosenthal (@amrosenthal)
Bonnie of Sunset Family Living (@sunsetfamilyliving)
Cara of That Crafty Cara (@thatcraftycara)
Carrie of Moda Cutting Table (@modafabrics)
Denise of Pieced Brain (@piecedbrain)
Elise of Elise and Emelie (@eliseandemelie)
Gina of Carpe Quiltin (@gina_tell_carpequiltin)
Heather of A Creative Pursuit (@acreativemama)
Hilary of By Hilary Jordan (@byhilaryjordan)
Jan of Cocoa Quilts (@cocoaquilts)
Jen of Heritage Threads (@heritage.threads)
Joanne of Quilts by Joanne (@turtlequilterjo)
Kairle of Kairle Oaks Handcrafted Goodness (@kairleoaks)
Kendra of Good Starter (@good_starter)
Kristen of 3 in the Nest (@threeinthenestraleigh)
Kristina of Center Street Quilts (@centerstreetquilts)
Leah of Ponderings from My Heart (@ponderingsfrommyheart)
Melanie of A Bit of Scrap Stuff (@mellierc)
Melissa of Happy Quilting (@happyquiltingmc)
Pat of Pat Sloan (@quilterpatsloan)
Pat B. of Life in the Scrapatch (@scrapatches)
Patty of Elm Street Quilts (@elmstreetquilts)
Sarah of 123 Quilt (@123quilt)
Seema of SSK Craft Shop (@sskcraftshop)
Sherri of A Quilting Life (@aquiltinglife)
Sondra of Out of the Blue Quilts (@sondradavison)
Stephanie of Quilt 'n Party (@quiltnparty)
Tanya of Tanya Quilts in CO (@tanyaquiltsinco)
Teresa of Aurea's Kitchen (@aureaskitchen)

Vickie of Crocheting Vixen (@crochetingvixen)

1 comment:

  1. The FQS does offer some fabulous patterns. Like you, I like how they make them available for a donation to a good cause.
    And yay for Swiss dots backgrounds!


Thanks for saying Hi........give me a day or so and I will say Hi back and answer any questions you may have....have a great day :)