Thursday, January 25, 2018

Clementine Quilt A Long - Month #1 Watermelon Wheel

Hi Peeps!

Welcome to the first month of the Clementine Quilt Along hosted by Fat Quarter Shop which will be benefiting St Jude Childrens Research Hospital.

The QAL will run from January until July and on the 25th of each month a new block will be posted with instructions and a video tutorial for a 12 1/2" AND a  20 1/2" block for any donation using this link here

You can purchase a kit here which includes all the fabric as per the pics.

 It's Mama's Cottage by Amy Rosenthal or do what I've done which is use a mix of fabrics in colour story groups....or scrappy whatever floats your boat.


The pattern calls for 8 different colours and 3 fat quarters of each fabric...so I decided to change the 8 fabrics a little so it was still cohesive but a little more scrappy.....it's a sampler type quilt and I really struggle with the usual uniformity this means......surprise, surprise! LOL

So it's Red, Dark Pink, Light Pink, Navy, Turquoise (of course ) , Yellow, Lime Green and Salmon. Mostly Riley Blake and Thimbleblossoms Basics with some Bella Solids and a few fat quarters from my stash for interest.......Swiss Dot in pink for the background.


So basically you make the same block in two sizes, as per the pattern using all the same fabrics, but for mine same colour story but all different fabrics....I hope my vision works??


The Watermelon Wheel... which I've never heard of .....is a great scrap block. The smaller sub units of 6 1/2" make use of small pieces so a good scrap buster.



Be warned though although not technically difficult it's a good test of your 1/4" seam when it comes time to match all the points up....aaaggghh


I'm sewing along with the all the awesome peeps below, so check all the lovely blocks out and jump right in....it's a feel good thing and you can play with fabric...win! win!

Talk soon Peeps x

April of April Rosenthal (@amrosenthal)
Bonnie of Sunset Family Living (@sunsetfamilyliving)
Cara of That Crafty Cara (@thatcraftycara)
Carrie of Moda Cutting Table (@modafabrics)
Denise of Pieced Brain (@piecedbrain)
Elise of Elise and Emelie (@eliseandemelie)
Gina of Carpe Quiltin (@gina_tell_carpequiltin)
Heather of A Creative Pursuit (@acreativepursuit)
Hilary of By Hilary Jordan (@byhilaryjordan)
Jan of Cocoa Quilts (@cocoaquilts)
Jen of Heritage Threads (@heritage.threads)
Joanne of Quilts by Joanne (@turtlequilterjo)
Kairle of Kairle Oaks Handcrafted Goodness (@kairleoaks)
Kendra of Good Starter (@good_starter)
Kristen of 3 in the Nest (@threeinthenestraleigh)
Kristina of Center Street Quilts (@centerstreetquilts)
Leah of Ponderings from My Heart (@ponderingsfrommyheart)
Melanie of A Bit of Scrap Stuff (@mellierc)
Melissa of Happy Quilting (@happyquiltingmc)
Michelle of Creative Blonde (@creativeblonde66)
Pat of Pat Sloan (@quilterpatsloan)
Pat B. of Life in the Scrapatch (@scrapatches)
Patty of Elm Street Quilts (@elmstreetquilts)
Rebecca of One Wee Bird (@oneweebird)
Sarah of 123 Quilt (@123quilt)
Seema of SSK Craft Shop (@sskcraftshop)
Sherri of A Quilting Life (@aquiltinglife)
Sondra of Out of the Blue Quilts (@sondradavison)
Stephanie of Quilt 'n Party (@quiltnparty)
Tanya of Tanya Quilts in CO (@tanyaquiltsinco)
Teresa of Aurea's Kitchen (@aureaskitchen)
Vickie of Crocheting Vixen (@crochetingvixen)

2 comments:


Thanks for saying Hi........give me a day or so and I will say Hi back and answer any questions you may have....have a great day :)